Cayman Islands Removed from EU Black List


Cayman Islands Removed from EU Black List

The Cayman Islands has been removed from the EU’s list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes. The Hon. Alden McLaughlin, Premier of the Cayman Islands said “Cayman responded positively by expanding the scope of our funds regime to ensure that the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority, our financial services regulator, has the legal mandate to supervise all Cayman-based investment funds”.

Premier McLaughlin confirms that the Cayman Islands continues to be committed to upstanding international tax standards, and notes that the EU and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development recognises Cayman’s tax regime. Premier McLaughlin further states that, “We will continue collaborating with the EU, including through broadening our dialogue to topics of mutual interest. These include green financing and key topics outside of financial services, such as environmental matters and tourism.”

This publication is for general guidance and is not intended to be a substitute for specific legal advice. Specialist advice should be sought about specific circumstances. If you would like further information, please contact:

Chris Humphries
Managing Director
Tel:(+1 345) 814 7911

Jon McLean
Tel:(+1 345) 814 7930